top of page

Vegan Peanut Butter Cacao Chip Cookies


Ok... so one of my all time favorite cookies that I make during the holidays are the ever-popular and always-delicious peanut butter chocolate kiss cookies. They have many names, but we always called them thumb print cookies. Every year around Christmas time, my grandmother on my mom's side would send us boxes of delicious, buttery, and sugary homemade cookies and fudge. She made everything by hand. She grew up on a farm, one of seven children. As a child, I remember being amazed at her strength given that she was such a slender old lady. Her hands were unbelievably strong from years of cleaning, cooking, whisking, kneading, and baking. All by hand. All in the most real and authentic ways possible.

Her cookies were famous, at least in my household (and those of my aunts, uncles, and cousins) and we waited impatiently for them to arrive in the mail every December. Now, it seems that making cookies around Christmas is a way to remember her and honor her and keep her in our thoughts around the holidays.

Now that I have discovered that eggs anger my digestive system (I tried to deny it for so long) I have been playing around with vegan cookies. Tonight, I craved those peanut butter kiss cookies, so I threw together something resembling them with things I already had laying around the kitchen-- without the butter, without the eggs, and without the mounds of sugar.

To my surprise, they turned out pretty damn delicious!

1 cup of oat flour

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup lucuma powder

A splash of homemade almond milk (would have used more if I hadn't used the rest to make chia seed pudding earlier)

2/3 cup water

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon maple syrup

--mix ingredients then throw in cacao chips

--bake at 350 for about 13 minutes

Enjoy!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page